Posted by: naeliz04 | May 19, 2012

Proverbs 31:7-9

7 Let them drink and forget their poverty and remember their misery no more. 8 Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute. 9 Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy. Proverbs 31: 7-9

These verses make me think of unrest, anger and dismay. It really bothers me and angers me that people in our society pray on those who either don’t know better or can’t help themselves. Like children…it makes my heart sick. They should be loved and valued and protected. Not exploited, marred, screamed at, hurt, taken advantage of, etc. If it hurts my heart so much, how much more does it hurt the Lords?

Am I compassionate to my family and to others? We need to be extra careful when we jump to conclusions or “judge others”. I really hope that I am teaching my children to be compassionate to those less fortunate then we are. Am I teaching them to laugh, mock, ridicule, start, make jokes, or am I teaching them to smile, rush to assist, help, listen, and encourage those we meet? Are we labeling ourselves “Christians” or are we continually acting like Christ would in the situations we face each day. What a high call and challenge. I know I fall short many times.

I need to be sure I am praying for my children, serving with them, going to church, limiting their screen time, put God’s word on the walls, and hopefully in their hearts, sing with them, being intentional. getting in the word, and allowing them to see me do it, protecting our home, praying with and modeling praying to them, by myself, with my husband, when things are good, when things are bad, inviting others to join our family for meals, on outings, etc, being a role model to them and having other adults in our life to be role models to them, writing notes to them, promoting that they belong in our home and everywhere we go, not jumping at every little chance to get a sitter and leaving them out (although date nights with Hubby are vitally important) making crafts with them, allowing messes (that’s how they learn), reading the Bible together, making marriage a priority in our home, vacationing with them, speaking God’s Word, loving them, allowing them to help with thing (even when it makes it take longer and may even make a bigger mess to clean up), and slowing down with them.

Learning to be firm yet kind and loving and careful to speak in a tone and with words that are respectful, honoring, and appropriate can be a hard balanced. Praying the Lord gives me wisdom in all situations all day long.

I have also been convicted of passing on opportunities that I should stand up for Christ. I was at the park in the last couple days and heard several parents mocking a teacher for standing up for Christ and how it was “inappropriate since their children went to a public school.” I then saw how disrespectful, hurtful and rude their girls were to my daughter when she tried to play with them. It broke my heart. These same parents got really upset when my just two year old threw sand and it “touched their girls.” Normal two year old behavior…not normal five year old behavior…Makes me really want to send my kids to school…however I think to about how to stand your ground and share Christ…probably a situation I should have said something…in fear or getting angry and really giving them a piece of my mind, I chose to prsay for them instead…

Serving others has been a HUGE passion of mine…Ever since serving on mission trips when I was younger I have a desire for children in other countries to learn about Jesus and find someone who truely loves and cares about them.

We would love to adopt, we would love to one day open an orphanage and give medical care to those who need it and can’t afford it. Saving lives body, soul, and with Christ’s help giving them a new Spirit filled with Christ. Right now, it is not the time or stage..Our stage in life right now is to intentional with our children. To teach them how great God is, and what a joy and blessing it is to serve others and show them all about Jesus. What an honor. So glad to have a life mate by my side to share this journey.

My Testimony:

I have always kind of struggled with sharing my testimony. I was saved as a child. My Dad was a Pastor, so I grew up in a Christian home. I was teased a lot growing up because people thought (or at least verbalized) I was a “goodie two shoes” and had a “direct line to God” because I was a PK (Pastor’s kid)

None the less, I am a horrible sinner, saved only by the grace of Jesus Christ. I haven’t endure horrible, traumatic situations. I have had trials (my husband had cancer with two babies being pregnant with the third, three years after we were married, etc).

I was adopted, and I am ever so grateful. I grew up in a home were kids were loved and valued. We were raised that every one has a purpose.  I have had some amazing experiences because of the gift my birth mother gave me. An amazing family, wonderful friends, a relationship with the Lord, my Christ seeking husband, four absolutely astounding children. Not that I wouldn’t have had these otherwise, but you never know.

I became a Christ sitting on my Grandpa’s knee. I am so grateful for the heritage and example they have been in my life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

