Posted by: naeliz04 | May 19, 2012

Proverbs 31:3-4

3 Do not spend your strength on women, your vigor on those who ruin kings. 4 It is not for kings, Lemuel— it is not for kings to drink wine, not for rulers to crave beer, Proverbs 31:3-4

I find it very interested to study these verses today. The economy was not the same then as it is now…but think of how many people today spend their lives drinking and sleeping around and yet never feel satisfied or fulfilled. I love that she spoke boldly enough to give her son such a grave warning. Today I feel people are so worried about being politically correct and offended someone that we tend to miss the mark on sharing Christ and truly making a difference.

It is amazing to me how much of an influence we can truly have on our husband. I want my husband’s heart and devotion yet I need to be careful not to fall into the potential to manipulate him to act or do what I want. (This makes me think of Samson and Delilah.)

I think it is also important to note that my struggle may not be wine or beer or promiscuity, but what is my struggle or temptation that is taking me away from what is really important? Also, I believe alcohol or any struggle or temptation is not necessarily bad until it is taken to an extreme or becomes an addiction. I don’t really drink, but that is a personal choice.

Backing up your beliefs and rules/standards should have a biblical basis though. I want to do better at teaching my children why we do and don’t do certain things. I believe it is important that we back them up so they see God says this not just my parents.

Leave a Reply

Categories

