Posted by: naeliz04 | May 19, 2012

Proverbs 31:1-2

1 The sayings of King Lemuel—an inspired utterance his mother taught him. 2 Listen, my son! Listen, son of my womb! Listen, my son, the answer to my prayers! Proverbs 31:1-2

Reading this makes me think of my boys and how much we pray that they learn to listen and obey, right away, the first time we ask…or as my girlfriend says “Listening is quickly, sweetly and completely”

Oh how I pray that we are able to raise our boys to be great men and great leaders. To love the Lord with all that they are. To find wives that are willing (and active) servants of the Lord.

I want them to yearn to serve others, to have the conviction of being humble, loyal, honest, dependable, loving, kind, courteous men. I want others to see chivalry is not dead in my house.

How do you foster that desire in your child to learn and grow? A mother has a desire to teach and show and explore everything with her children. This world is such a dangerous and scary place, and we only get a short time of helping to shape and point our children to the Lord.

I am soo grateful for a husband who is such an amazing example to our children of a true Godly man. Along with the examples of a very involved Gumpy and Great Grandpa. It breaks my heart to think of the children who don’t have this in their lives.

Also, I believe as mothers we are called to properly instruct our children in Biblical teaching, Godly habit training, worshiping by example, memory work, manners, work ethic, obedience, respect for elders, Reading the Bible together, being consistent with and involved in a body of Christ, respect for property and others belongings, a tender helpful spirit, going the extra mile, showing others the love of Christ, teaching them Bible songs, etc…What a wonderful yet daunting call.

“Children are like sponges! What am I emphasizing to them by my example? What am I repeating over and over? Words of praise? Bible verses? Words of love? Gossip? Criticism? Lies? Foul Language? Do I get easily irritated when I have to repeat something to my child? Am I sure they a re listening to me in the first place? Am I raising my children according to the ways that please the Lord? Can I improve?” taken from Valerie Basham

I believe I have work to do in this area. I need to watch my tone when I am speaking. I tend to get frustrated with them and snap sometimes. I think this shows a need for greater patience needed as well.

I am trying very hard to focus on praise rather then negative words. They still get punished for doing wrong, but I feel the day goes so much better when I am intentional about praising and thanking them. Grace goes a long way as well. I think they feel better about themselves as well. Who wants to try when all you hear is things you did wrong?

I also have been challenged to spend more time with them…as well as slowing down and taking time for things that really matter…Sorry Babe, you may have to help me with laundry and dishes, but we spent significant time digging for “dinosaur bones (sticks)” and reading books, and “nuggling” (snuggling) because that’s where the memories are made. 😀 Luckily, I have a husband that agrees and supports that.

My husband and I have agreed a value we want to instill in our house and with our children is that every child/person that comes into our home will feel loved, valued, wanted, and would be taught about Jesus. Boiled down…the only thing that really matters is eternity…Fostering the desire for it in our children is what life is all about.

Leave a Reply

Categories

