Posted by: naeliz04 | May 18, 2012

Proverbs 31-Beginnings

Over the six months the Lord has really been working on my heart. Last summer I left my “making money” job to be fully vested in the lives of my beautiful children. I am so completely grateful to my wonderful husband for allowing me to do this. 

I must admit it has been really hard for me though. Up to that point I had been the one working to pay most of our bills, house work…well I fit it in as best I could, down time — what’s that? I got to a point where I felt like I was carrying a serving platter everywhere I went and more and more kept getting piled on even though I was dropping things right and left. 

Since then I have been truly challenged. Being home full time was huge. Yet still I felt lost and like their was no way to fully be vested. I always have dirty dishes, and dirty clothes, and don’t get me started on bathrooms, vacuuming, etc. 

Life with four toddlers and infants is intense, stressful, crazy… Yet, God has given me these blessings for a purpose and reason. Only a few decades before people did 7, 10, 12, 14 kids…I can do four right? Well, not without the Lord’s strength and his new mercies and grace each day.

I have often felt so exhausted by the end of the day that my husband gets the left overs. In 15-20 years when my kids are gone, he is who I want to spend the rest of my life with. I don’t want to get there and wonder who he is. 

I believe God has laid on my heart a desire to truly change my schedule, priorities, standards, etc to allow my husband and kids a fully present wife and mother. I have spent the last few months study Proverbs 31 and Titus 2 and really “taking time to smell the roses” and watch the ants and pick dandelions.

So here goes…for the next 14 weeks I am working through an even more intense study of Proverbs 31 and I am going to attempt to read through the Bible by the end of the summer…I know putting this out on the internet now keeps me more accountable. Feel free to ask me how it is going…

My girlfriend and I have also being reading Finding the Hero in Your Husband by Julianne Slaghtery. It is a great book…Maybe I will try and update on some of the things I am learning too. 😀 

I know that is a lot, but I want my kids to see me actively praying and seeking the Lord’s direction. If I expect them to do daily devotions as they get older, they need to see me doing it too. I am so thankful God got a hold of my heart while my kids are still young.

Leave a Reply

Categories

