Posted by: naeliz04 | May 21, 2012

Proverbs 31:10

A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. Proverbs 31:10

I think these verse pose a challange. Am I striving to become who Christ wants me to be. It is so easy to be selfish and do what I want to do, but that does not produce a noble character. I need to be living with a focus on becoming the woman that God desires me to be. Consistently growing is important.

Is my heart being transformed into Christ’s likeness? Am I striving to be a woman after God’s own heart?

Remembering to be refueled is the only way I believe this can happen. We can choose to do it on our own and become overwhelmed, angry and frustrated, or we can choose to do it God’s way and find nourishment, fulfillment, life giving relationships and sustenance. I want to spend time soaking in the mindset of Christ.

I need to dwell and and dig deeper into the priorities, mindset, commands, and heart of God. I want Him to transform me to be who he wants me to be and to become more like Him. I feel that I need to focus on being who Christ called me to be…it may or may not be everything written in Proverbs 31, but fulfilling his vision, purpose and call on my life is what is worth striving towards.

Spending quality time with him is what the Lord desires us to do. If you think about most other things tend to fall into place after that happens. Adding many things to our “to do” list doesn’t help…it just confuses, frustrates and bogs us down. I need to focus on internal worth and qualities to allow externals to happen.

This has been hard for me…I grew up with a Mom that always had the house spotless, a yummy homemade meal, she home schooled us, we were involved in tons of activities, they did foster care, they adopted, they were in ministry and always very active in the church and ran many ministries, she volunteered and was involved in pretty much everything we did.  She made it look so easy. I feel like with four very young children I can be intentional with spending time with them or focus on the house, laundry, dishes, making beds, etc. I had to learn to really let some of it go.

I don’t know how she did or does it, but I need to think: So what if the bathroom gets cleaned every other week instead of once a week…they are only this little today, tomorrow they will be older and being focused on them, spending time teaching them about Christ, and making memories are what matter in the long run.

A wife of noble character is her husband’s crown, but a disgraceful wife is like decay in his bones. Proverbs 12:4

I need to remember that I am a representation of my husband and called to make my home a safe place, free of stress and worry. I answer to God for being submissive and supportive of my husband. This doesn’t mean I don’t give my opinion, or that I am a doormat. It means that I choose to empower my husband not to enable him.

I want to be faithful. pure, the wife of one husband, free from indecency and obscenity, modest, non-suggestive, not bold, nor boastful, nor presumptuous, nor forward, nor arrogant, and restrained in what I say, do, and wear with a sense of propriety. I am me in the eyes of God! I don’t need to be on a power trip, nor trying to be better then men. God made me perfect and special.

Responses

  1. Amen. Yes, God made each one of us special and unique. We just need to be humble and seek Him whole-heartedly everyday.

    Shenine
    A Woman After God’s Own Heart ♥


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

